Dead simple lace socks

I have been out for a while due to major PC problems. Hopefully all will be resolved by the end of this week ….

I did quite some knitting in the meantime. I have 4 projects going at this moment and I’m happy to show the first FO (finished object).

image

image

I got this pattern from a great book written by Wendy D. Johnson, called Socks from the toe-up. The explanations are clear and the photography is wonderful.

I totally agree with the quote from the Knitter’s Review on the backside of the book saying

“the photography is beautiful-lush and evocative on a broad scale while always zooming in for several close-up shots that clearly illustrate the crucial parts of each sock.”

I have taken up the plan to knit EVERY SINGLE PAIR! That makes it just 19 pairs to go. I think I can handle this, but it’ll take a loooong time.

I used Malabrigo sock yarn. A true delight! It’s pure merino wool, extremely soft. I have some more in my stash, so I look forward to trying out different colors.

image

I’ve noticed before that getting the right color photographed depends a lot on the amount of sunshine. The ply shown above probably gives the most truly and exact color and the last picture of this blog is the farest away from it. The exact color is closer to green than it is to brown. I just wanted to show a detail of the lace.

image

image

Malabrigo Sock Yarn
Nld 2,5 mm

19 thoughts on “Dead simple lace socks

  1. Your socks came out great! I love the color of the Malabrigo sock yarn that you used. I’m a super beginner at knitting but I’ve always wanted to learn how to make socks. I’ll practice. 🙂
    By the way, thank you for viewing and liking my photo blog “Beautiful Rosebud to Blossom Series”,
    Please come back and visit again soon!

    • I will do so😊. Thank you for your nice comment. Good luck with the knitting, I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. Come back any time you like.

      • Oh wauwww, I’m really flattered now, thank you so much! I had a lot of fun making it. Just be careful, it can become an addiction😀
        I already look forward to seeing the result.

      • Too late…I’m already addicted to yarn art. I made a bunch of beanies and a couple “amigurumi” (Japanese term for little knitted or crocheted animals).
        I have a whole bunch of yarn but just haven’t had the time to use it lately. I will make time now…I’ve been re-inspired. 🙂

  2. Hello! What a nice blog you have. I am in awe of both your sock-knitting and your afghan-crocheting. I have realised that my knitting talents do not lie in the direction of making socks, which is fine; and I’ve just learned to crochet and find it hard to make granny squares that aren’t a bit wonky. But aren’t we lucky to have handcrafts to do?

    • Hello, many thanks for your nice words! I’m very happy to hear that you like my blog 😀. I absolutely loved your post on that nice day you spent. It gave me a good feeling, what else could be more fun than handcrafting while drinking coffee or tea with a dear friend!
      Thanks again for your comment and come back any time you like.

    • Ooh thank you so much!! I’m really excited about this 😄😄and even a bit overwhelmed I have to admit. How sweet of you to keep my blog in the picture!
      I will have to look into this Family Award, this is all very new to me, but it sounds great!

    • Thank you so much, I’m happy you like them!
      I was really excited to have been nominated by iknead2knit and still am! It has given my blog a great boost.
      In fact I also should thank you 😄thank
      you for liking and following my blog! I’m reaaly happy to be part of the family!

Leave a Reply

