Norway # 3 … and reading about a knitting blog

Even when I am on holiday I need to be doing something with my hands as soon as I sit down. I still don’t understand what made me decide to leave my knitting needles at home?! I deeply regretted it every single day!

With no knitting, no internet connection I was forced to re-adapt myself to reading. Where have the days gone when I used to devour books …
I discovered this great small book about a 47 years old woman who has a knitting blog!

9782709638180-T

The book has been on the bestseller lists for a while in Belgium and France and many countries have bought the translation rights. An English translation already exists “The list of my desires”. I am very fond of the typical cynical French humor. It’s a short book with themes like happiness, love and materialism.

In essence, it’s a story about how hard it has become to live a modest life and be just fine with it and how hard it is to protect this type of happiness. I recommend it, especially to all the knitting bloggers.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the poor quality of the picture with the sweaters, but it’s the only one I took.
Before going to Norway, I read that almost every Norwegian village has its knitting store, so I had great expectations of a suitcase full of new yarn. It didn’t happen. Dedicated yarn shops were hard to find. It’s very easy however to find yarn in supermarkets or small local shops. But once you’ve become a passionate knitter like me, you’re not easily satisfied with just any yarn. I finally brought home 2 skeins of 2-ply untreated merino wool from a Norwegian branch “Nostebarn”.

I keep getting inspired by the beautiful handknitted sweaters, mittens, gloves, hats, etc with traditional Scandinavian designs and patterns. In Bergen you could really find them from one shop to the next and they seem to have gained the status of an enormous touristic attraction.

I’m sure it’ll be one of my knitting projects for next winter.

23 thoughts on “Norway # 3 … and reading about a knitting blog

  1. What a lovely post! I have put the book on my list, I’ll order it first thing after Blogging! 🙂

    I have loads and loads of “norwegians” as we call the sweaters in Germany (Norweger) and I’m so happy to see you like the norwegian patters and way of knitting! 🙂
    You have a great blog and I look forward to see a lot more of your fine work in the future; I’m your new follower.
    Greetings from The Rhine Valley
    Dina

    • Hi Dina, your lovely comment is so heartwarming! Many thanks for that! Lucky you to have all these “Norwegians”, (didn’t know yoy called them that way), aren’t they gorgeous. It think it’s crazy to see how these traditional Scandinavian and folk patterns never become outdated. They really stand the test of times.
      Thank you so much for following, the feeling is mutual😀

    • As a matter of fact it’s my favorite kind of humor, I love it! I enjoyed this book a lot, it reads very easily. It’s all about the relationship between love, friendship, money and happiness.
      I agree about these patterns. I have plenty of books with traditional knitting designs for mittens, gloves and hats. They really brighten up our coldest days of winter.
      Thanks for reading and commenting.
      Febr12❤

      • Oh, glad to hear it ! I just didn’t realize that our sense of humor was cynical, but I’ll definitely look into reading that book ! You’ve definitely advertised it well 🙂 Yes, I better get started now as our winters seem to get colder and colder every year ! No problem ! Also feel free to stop by my blog any time !

    • I still don’t understand why I didn’t take my needles? I’m sure it won’t happen again😉
      At one point I considered buying yarn and needles over there, but then I couldn’t find any pattern in
      English, only Norwegian. Talking about an addiction … Never thought it could make me so desperate…
      Fortunately I had some great books.
      Love,
      Febr12❤

  2. Oh my, I could have told you that going to Norway without your knitting, is… well… Better be safe than sorry, is my device.
    On the other hand, you find yarn in the most unsuspected places. I always ask the “locals” 🙂
    I would have loved to try the Nøstebarn-yarn. Perhaps I will find it next time I’m “home”?
    Now I will look up the book!

    • You are right about finding yarn in unexpected places. I found the Nostebarn yarn in a flower shop almost by accident.
      And I’ll remember your device. In fact I already did, I’m in France now and I did bring my needles this time😀
      Obviously you knew some of the right places, I love the yarn you brought back.
      Thank you so much for commenting and following.❤
      Happy knitting!

      • That is wise – outside he bigger cities, yarn shops are rather rare, and do not always have what you (I) would like. And in August, everybody is on vacation. Besides, circulars are still a curiosity here…
        If you happen to be in Paris, please let me know! I would be happy to meet you!

      • I agree, just like you I always have high quality yarn in mind, like the one in your post. I am so happy to have found each other. If one day I go back to Norway I’ll have someone to ask for advice.
        I’m in Charente, a bit too far from Paris😔thanks anyway. How kind of you!
        I look forward to reading more of your lovely posts in the future.
        ❤ Bonne journee a Paris ❤ sorry, can’t seem to change the language settings for getting the accents right

      • Of what I read about Nøstebarn, it’s a good yarn, so at least you got quality. Please feel free to ask next time! Btw, go for fonty in France. Their bbmerino is good value for money. And Plassard is good alpaca. Both are fingering.
        I hope you have as nice weather in Charentes as we have in Paris right now!
        Bon séjour ! À bientôt !

      • Thank you so much for wanting to share and for your advice. From what I read you are a professional, so I trust your opinion! I’ll have a good look into those French yarns when I’m back home. Great news about Nostebarn as well, happy to hear this.
        The weather is fabulous here, about 26C and there is constantly a nice breeze.
        I’m sure we’ll talk again soon.
        Love,
        Febr12❤

    • Hi there,
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!
      I read the book in French, but I checked on Amazon, and the book has already been translated in English and is called “the list of my desires”.
      I liked it a lot because it’s about a woman having a very common life without a lot of excitement. The “lesson” of this book is that happiness often sits is small things and doesn’t need to be materialized. I think is a great wisdom.
      Love,
      Febr12

Leave a Reply

