Relax sweater

As soon as I saw this sweater I knew I would make it. It’s a Japanese design by Ririko for the Amirisu 2013 Spring Edition. I am very fond of the simplicity and elegance you often find in Japanese design.

I used Madelinetosh Tosh Light for my sweater. Perhaps a brighter or stronger color would have been better but I didn’t get the chance. Well, I’m fine with it actually because I love Madelinetosh anyway no matter the colorway. The truth is that it was the only colorway still available in the right quantity when I ordered this yarn in France. Madelinetosh is just so badly wanted that it’s recommended to order immediately upon new arrivals. Here’s another great lesson for future knitting!

IMG_2156

IMG_2151

IMG_2136

My daughter and I have the same size – except that she’s a bit(!) more slim than I am – and we both wanted this sweater. I won this time, but it honestly did look a bit too big on her.

This sweater it just so so comfy. I wouldn’t be surprised if it becomes one of my favorites. I even wore it to the office, which I normally don’t and got great compliments on it.

I am wondering … how often do you wear your hand knit projects? I definitely don’t wear it enough, I really don’t. I often have a feeling of uncertainty about it and even slight embarrassment. I know it’s stupid, but can’t help it. Do you get the same feeling about your hand knitwear? Let me know, I’m really curious about it.

Madelinetosh Tosh Light
Nld 4 mm

20 thoughts on “Relax sweater

  1. I love the sweater. It looks great on you. I too don’t wear my knit sweaters often. I fear they will get ruined somehow. On the other hand, I am not afraid of wearing my hand knit socks or shawls. These items see a ton of wear from me.

    • I recognize that as well😉, they are like little treasures.
      I love wearing my socks, mittens, hats. Shawls are a bit more complicated because I want to protect them, like you. And I wear my sweaters mostly in my free time and seldom at work.

  2. That’s really lovely! The colour is gorgeous too! I wear my sweaters all the time, almost exclusively in fact. I used to be self-conscious about wearing my knits to the office, but as I have now knitted some sweaters and cardigans to match my work clothing, it’s not an issue any more. Good quality yarn will stand up to a lot of wear and tear. You should enjoy and celebrate that beautiful sweater!

    • You are so right and it’s great to hear that you are wearing your sweaters all the time!
      It is also so true what you are saying about the yarn. I have been knitting since I was a child and used to not giving so much attention to the yarn. Since I have become addicted to knitting I can see the huge difference it makes.
      Thank you for convincing me to wear my knitwear much more including to the office!
      Many thanks for reading and commenting.
      Have a nice day!

  3. It’s gorgeous. I stay at home with my 18 month old grandson so I wear my handknits all the time. I understand but no one sees me. 😉

  4. Your sweater is beautiful! And the colour is awesome too! This pattern rushed to my top-ten in my queue.
    Personnally, I use almost all my knitted garments at work (mostly shawls, but also some sweaters. And socks!). And I get some compliments from time to time too. I am a proud knitter, and I think that our humble production should not be hid into the personal sphere :).

    • You are ssoooo right, from now on I will wear them with pride. Especially after all the encouragements I got from passionate knitters like you. It is stupid to hide them in some drawer, especially after all the hard work and passion put into it.
      When I wore this sweater at work the other day (first time ever I wore handknit at work!) I got great compliments on it too. The office is a relatively formal place, so I find it a bit hard. But I’ll keep trying.
      Cheers!

  5. This is beautiful and certainly fine enough for work! Wear it with pride. I wear handknits a lot. But it is partly ‘advertising’ as I co-run a local knitting group and this encourages others to join or be more adventurous with their knitting.

Leave a Reply

