Midsummer Travel

I’m so excited about my latest Stephen West project “REIS”, which means trip or travel in Dutch.

As soon as this pattern was released months ago I couldn’t stop myself going back to it, over and over again.

I thought I would probably enjoy it as much as I did my Enchanted Mesa.

And yes, I confirm, all I had was great fun!

The project is RAVELLED here with additional information.

IMG_1572

IMG_1564

IMG_1569

I love playing around with yarn and color. I used a total of 18 different yarns! The sweater is supposed to be worked in DK. I didn’t have enough of that so I used fingering and sock weight yarns held together and played around with the combinations.

When so many different colors are involved in one project, I always find it challenging to find a right balance between keeping the colors interesting enough without overdoing it.

I just followed my intuition as I went along and hoped it would all come together in the end.

For the body I mainly used blues and pinks in all varieties and for the sleeves I mainly used grey and blues. I added small spots of yellow & green in order to break the other colors.

14 thoughts on “Midsummer Travel

    • OMG!! That is so heartwarming!!
      I love the playful part a lot and I think it’s all about finding the right balance until the end. I wanted to make sure it would still be wearable 🙂
      Love,
      x

    • Many thanks for your sweet comment!
      Yes it’s very warm because the yoke is totally stranded – in DK – and in the slipped stitch pattern two rows out of four are stranded too.
      Ideal I think for anything outdoors in winter.
      Thanks for coming to my “home” at Ravelry, it’s where I live these days :):)

  1. Absolutely stunning. 🙂 “reis” is so appropriate. (being Afrikaans, I knew the word and meaning immediately).
    I think I should also put a “reis” (trip) in my near future. Summer is coming soon.
    Lovely knitting. Thanks for sharing with us.

    • Thank you my dear!! Reis was quite an adventure but the fun thing about it is that it’s interesting knitting until the end. Not a chance of getting bored.
      Now I’m back to a “safe” navy blue sweater for my daughter.
      Have a lovely day in South Africa!
      Lots of greetings from a terribly rainy and wet Belgium today. It’s supposed to be summer here ?!??!

    • What a super compliment that is! You make me blush!
      This is my second Stephen West design and I think it can’t be compared it to anything, it’s always very interesting and challenging.
      Thank you so much for coming to Ravelry as well, I really appreciate it!
      Have a lovely Sunday,
      x

  2. Pingback: A Sweater Intended for Autumn | earthchicknits

Leave a Reply

