FO Friday – Stormy weather

I was lucky having the chance to testknit this great sweater for Maarzi.

I made a few changes to make it more like me, like a bit of color and no cables at the sides.

This project is RAVELLED here with additional information.

I am very pleased about the result and my daughter is totally happy with it! I think it really looks great on her.

IMG_1623

Recently I did a lot of very colorful projects – so much fun – but this time I felt I wanted/needed something more solid.

I still couldn’t help to add a bit of color though on the neck and sleeve borders.

I underestimated the work on this one because I used sock yarn, as in the description, and a needle size 3 mm (US 2.5), also as in the description.

My gauge was 28 stitches x 41 rows and so you’ll understand how slowly this one grew.

To be honest, it was a bit of a boring project to me. Stockinette stitch? I think I got it now:):) But as I said, I’m really happy with the result!

IMG_1616

IMG_1620

Again I had a surprise with the online ordering of a colorway called “Gothic”.

I expected to get a very dark grey and I got purple.

In retrospect, when I go back to the website I can see the purple shine now, but I can still see how one can think it’s dark grey.

And admittedly, the name doesn’t really help neither, it can perfectly go both ways.

But I don’t think those small risks from online ordering will stop me now!

IMG_1624

The yarn is from Northbound Knitting. It’s very soft and it must be really ideal for socks (not for sweaters!). One skein still had a lot of white spots, as you can see in the lower part of the body. It’s a perfect example of how useful it can be to alternate two skeins…

Northbound Knitting – Superwash Merino Fingering
Nld size 3 mm (US 2.5)

31 thoughts on “FO Friday – Stormy weather

    • Ooohhh you’re so sweet.
      It was too hard for me not adding color and mainly working stockinette stitch. I simply had to do something to keep my interest going.
      My daughter will be very pleased when she hears that, perhaps I shouldn’t tell (smiley) (I can’t add smileys anymore with my computer, don’t know why).
      x

  1. I love it! The sweater fits her beautifully and the purple color is perfect. I’m always afraid to order online because of the possibility of ending up with an unexpected color.

    I go onto Ravelry and check out dozens of projects using my desired yarn/colorway to make sure it’s what I want. It recently saved me from ending up with a bright blue when I was going for navy.

    • Thank you so much!
      You are so totally right! I order almost everything online, basically because I haven’t really found a LYS with high end yarns in my neighborhood. It’s an excellent idea to check the colorway and yarn the way you do it! It’s stupid that I don’t. I’ve already had a couple of surprises like this, and it’s more often a bad surprise than a good one 😦
      But this purple is okay with me. Image how it would’ve looked like in dark grey …

  2. It turned out beautifully! It’s not a style or a color I would choose on my own, but together they look great. I hear ya on the sock yarn for sweaters though….it’s slow going.

    • Thank you so much! I really appreciate your straightforward opinion, love that!
      Yes I agree, sock yarn for sweaters is not a good idea!
      Happy knitting!
      xx

    • ooohhh wow, it makes me really happy that I could inspire you.
      Thank you so much for linking my blog to yours, that is very kind of you.
      Wish you a lovely weekend with lots of inspiration and happy knitting!
      xx

    • Thank you for your sweet comment! It’s very hard for me only using one color, so I had to add a little more.
      My daughter is very pleased with it and believe me, she would tell if she wasn’t 🙂
      Enjoy your day!

  3. Hi February12,
    (for some reason, you fell out of the list of people I am following – It seems like an automated unfollow-thin, and I don’t understand why. Anyway, I am happy to visit you again.

    The sweater is lovely. I like the clean lines and the colour is gorgeous (I mark the name!)

    • Hi there and welcome again!
      Well, I had some strange and similar things with WordPress too that I don’t always understand. Anyway, I’m very happy to see you back. Your Brighton Unwind trip looks so wonderful, if I can perhaps I’ll go next year.
      Happy you like my daughter’s sweater. She loves it and is waiting for the weather to cool down.

Leave a Reply

