Testing FF Backward for Alfaknits

As a Belgian I was so pleased and proud to be able to testknit this beauty for a Belgian designer.

Please prove me wrong, but I always get the feeling that the Belgian knitting scene is rather small when it comes to designers and high-end yarn brands and I regret that.

I envy some of you guys who seem to be living in knitting paradises like the UK, States, Australia, New Zealand, Scandinavia and closer to home Germany and France.

But okay, we might not have many designers but Anne from Alfaknits is just a wonderful designer. She’s a graphic designer and that shows in her designs.

Thanks Anne so much for having me as a tester!

The pattern will be released very soon, around October 15! Don’t miss it.

I used Drops Baby Alpaca & Silk. It’s a Norwegian brand but I ordered it in Belgium.
See, I’m trying hard to go Belgian but it’s difficult to go all the way when you live in a small country.

IMG_1966

Another thing I like about Anne’s designs are their versatility. It’s my favorite kind of knitting because it keeps my interest going.

I decided to add striping in the back. You can take a look at my Ravelry project page for more pictures but please also take a look at other people’s project just to see how different and great they all became.

IMG_1991

IMG_1992

DROPS Baby Alpaca & Silk
Needle size 3mm

7 thoughts on “Testing FF Backward for Alfaknits

    • Thank you! I’ve been thinking a lot about these issues lately and I try to support anything local if I can.
      It’s surprising to see how difficult that can be.

    • Your husband? That sounds like pure love to me! 🙂 If you still know the name of that brand, it would be nice if you could let me know. I heard about the shop in Bruges, there aren’t many yarn shops left in Belgium.

  1. Beautiful knit and design. Yes, I can see the Graphic Designer in this, my daughter is a graphic designer as well. She would love this sweater, her favourite colours are grey and black. This would be just perfect for her. 🙂

  2. As a fellow Belgian, I can totally relate to this. Not always easy to shop local, for yarn or for patterns. We are not exactly spoiled for choice, are we. So I’ve decided that as long as it’s European, it’s local 😉 Thanks for pointing me in the direction of Atelier Alfa!

    • I agree, “local” is pretty much “Europe” for me as well. Although I’d prefer to avoid the transportation costs.
      I had been wondering if you were Belgian or Brittish. Now I know 🙂 Your garden looks Belgian, it looks a bit like mine.
      Have a great weekend!
      x

Leave a Reply

