Modular Magic

This is the 4th time I’m making a project from Westknits design and again, it totally triggered my imagination. What is it you’re doing to me, Mr. West? What’s the secret?

IMG_2017

It’s construction is very unusual. Well, perhaps not so unusual for a Westknits design.

Forget about bottom-up knitting, forget about top-down knitting and start in the middle for a change.

IMG_2004

The fun thing is, and I think it’s rather genius, that you can pick up stitches on each of the 4 sides of the rectangular. There’s a provisional cast-on at the bottom of the rectangular and there are life stitches put on scrap yarn on top. Each row of the rectangular ends with a w&t stitch (wrap and turn) which allows you to pick up the stitches very easily afterwards.

IMG_2094

I mainly used Alafoss Lopi yarn, it’s really thick and warm, yet light. I love this yarn, no matter if it’s a bit itchy, and it comes in the most gorgeous colors.

The original design has no sleeves, but I could not imagine wearing anything that chunky indoors, even without the sleeves. I decided to make it an outdoor version and added sleeves.

IMG_2019

IMG_2055

As I went along, I noticed that the fronts would open up a lot and so I added a button band with some short rows to avoid that.

Can you tell, I’m in love with this one? Or did I already make this clear?

I’m a very seasonal person and as I was making this one I had exactly this setting in mind. It probably explains my color choice.

You can find more pictures and notes on this jacket on my Ravelry project page here.

Ndl size 7mm
Alafoss Lopi

17 thoughts on “Modular Magic

  1. This is absolutely amazing! I love the way you made it a wearable garment 🙂
    The colours are beautiful and I had to smile about your thoughts to choose them for this setting! The photos are stunning, you’re right!

    • Thank you for your sweet comment!
      It’s only recently I noticed how much I get influenced by the seasons when I pick my colors. It wasn’t anything conscious but now I can’t deny it. I’ll probably chose yellows in spring 🙂

  2. Beautiful. And what a lovely setting! I like the modifications you made – completely agree that it must have sleeves. Thanks for your kind comments on my blog. I’m doing a giveaway, so come and leave a comment!

  3. I absolutely love it. It turned out stunning. Well done. 🙂
    I love your photos and settings, it looks really perfect weather for a nice stroll to enjoy the sunshine. Thanks for sharing with us.

  4. Oh my, what a transformation! I’m in awe of your ability to move from the original to this reimagined shape, and to put together the colors in the way you did, which so complement the outlines. Stunning, really. Congratulations!

    • Oh thank you for this wonderful compliment! I knew I was not going to wear this in its original shape and so I adapted it a bit to make it an outdoor version and with this pattern it was very easy to do so. I’m very happy with it! Thanks a lot for stopping by! 🙂
      x

Leave a Reply

