Still Light Tunic

Let me put some life back in here and what could possibly be a better day for this than today 🙂

I have a couple of FO’s to show you, but I’ll do one at the time.

IMG_2967 IMG_2969

First one is this dress I made for my daughter. Euuhmmm, didn’t I say (probably even in my last post!) I was going to do more S.M.A.L.L. projects??

Okay, let’s say any next project will be smaller than this one, haha!

I used DROPS Alpaca for it, just like Veera in her pattern. But when the yarn arrived I couldn’t believe I could get a dress out of this. It looked so thin and almost miserable.

I checked the pattern again because I really thought I’d made a mistake. I also checked others’ project pages having used the same yarn and their dresses all looked fine.

Never judge by the looks. This yarn knits up quite fluffy and it turned out to be just perfect for this pattern.

IMG_2981

It was a little difficult to determine a good length for this. Also, after blocking the dress had grown just a little too much, that is for my 16 year old girl who turned 17 today!

I would wear it at this length, but I guess it’s different for young girls.

The pictures still show the dress at the old length, but in the meantime I’ve shortened it and I have to agree the shorter version looks better on her.

12 thoughts on “Still Light Tunic

    • I liked the longer version too, but it had to be “more modern” for her!
      How kind of you that you paid attention to the date, thank you so much! Yes, I’m about to prepare the kids’ tripple birthday party 🙂 and I promised there would be french fries (or are these belgian? – lol)

    • Yes, the color has a very warm shine and in fact that color looks even better in reality.
      We had a wonderful tripple birthday party, thank you so much! Still can’t believe it: 17, 17 and 15 🙂

  1. Good call on the shortening. alpaca grows and it would have been even longer after a while. The dress is gorgeous! And your daughter looks great in it! Happy Birthday to her!

    I am so jealous that you have obviously got more time than me to knit at the moment.

    • Thanks for sharing about the alpaca, I didn’t know that. But the shorter version looks great on her.
      Many many thanks for the birthday wishes, we did our best to make it a special day for the three of them 🙂

      Oh and you’re so right about how precious time can be. I have some time at the moment, it feels like heaven, but soon enough that’ll be over and I’ll go back to my busy life and traffic jams! Gggrrrrrrrr

    • Thank you so much for your sweet birthday wishes. We have tried to make it special day for the three kids who are now 17y, 17y and 15y since yesterday. We have to make it special, don’t we, since this only happens once a year in our family 🙂 🙂
      Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Thank you so much! It’s a fantastic pattern, so simple and so elegant. One of the days I’ll cast on “Laneway” I think, another great Veera Valimaki pattern, but then it will be mine!

Leave a Reply

