Hand dyed yarn – Volcano Blue

From one thing sometimes comes the next.

Do I need to say I’m passionate about knitting? Okay, thought so …

However, there’s that one thing I keep feeling frustrated about and that’s the limited choice of hand dyed yarns in Belgium.
Some Belgian LYS have them of course but usually only in small amounts and never mind the colors.
I’ve learned to become “flexible” though on colorways because there’s a big chance I won’t find what I was looking for in the first place.
But sometimes I don’t want to be “flexible” and I’ll probably end up ordering outside Belgium after all.
Mainly in Germany and France and I’ll be paying too much on transportation costs, as usual.

I always have some bad feeling about this.

IMG_0440

There’re only a few brick and mortar LYS left in Belgium and they seem to have a hard time.
Lots of them are offering other things like fancy fabrics and that’s basically a matter of surviving.
Sewing is immensely popular here, rather than knitting.

But ME? I’m NOT a sewer and I never will be!
When it comes to yarn, Belgian LYS mainly offer manufactured yarns and loads of sock yarn.
Sock yarn – manufactured – is really all over the place.

I’ve always wondered, are Belgian knitters seriously mainly sock knitters?
Suppose we’re mainly sock knitters, then who’s wearing all these socks?
I never saw one person wearing knit socks.
Okay, Belgian people are often told to be discrete πŸ™‚
Just imagine all these little treasures hidden away in boots πŸ™‚

Don’t get me wrong.
There’s nothing wrong with manufactured yarns and I buy them too.
But I think they can’t compete with hand dyed yarns.
What’s the difference?
Without any doubt, it has to be LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
But beware, once you go fancy, there’s no way back.

I just wished I didn’t have to order my hand dyed yarns outside Belgium so much.

Because …
What about stimulating local economy?
What about ecological footprint?
What about handmade?
What about slow?
Sigh, sigh …

IMG_0437

As I said, from one thing comes the next.

I’m a knitter, but in fact I like many other crafts.
Last year I took a workshop on spinning and two on dyeing.
Knitting, spinning, dyeing, these processes take time but that’s exactly what I like.
They are slow and relaxing.

The dyeing is absolutely fascinating and I’m experimenting with different techniques and color blends. I love it!
Wouldn’t it be nice if I was able to dye up my own yarn.
I don’t need another challenge, but too late for that I’m afraid.

This came out of my dye pot the other day and I’m really in love with it!
I’ve called it Volcano Blue.
When you look at this, can you also see the dark blues and purples from the outside of the volcano and the red and oranges from the lava?

Let me know what you think of it.

20 thoughts on “Hand dyed yarn – Volcano Blue

  1. That’s lovely. Beautiful blend of colours. Knit it quickly please so we can see! I’m with you on the slow, sustainable, eco friendly crafting – although sometimes I need a quick knitting fix too.

    • Thank you so much for reading and I’m happy you like this color too. It’s a real fun process, ideal for the adventurous crafter I sometimes become πŸ™‚

  2. Very nice! those workshops paid off! I thought your notes on Belgium interesting – one would think that SOMEONE would be knitting and asking for special yarns. Maybe this is a sign that you should sell some of your beautiful yarn locally?

    • It really makes me happy to hear you thought my notes on Belgium were interesting. Thank you so much for reading!! And I love your suggestion πŸ™‚ Meanwhile I’ll continue practising and of course I’ll post about it here.
      xx

  3. That is a gorgeous colourway! Perhaps you will be able to single-handedly put some life back into Belgian yarn production?

  4. I love your thought processes – similar to mine in relation to New Zealand yarn. Although I think I am more fortunate that you in that respect. Your dyeing experiment is gorgeous! Keep it up!

    • I will, I will and I’ll show it here. It’s a lot of fun to do.
      You’re very lucky to be in New Zealand. I think a lot about economic aspects of countries and how some businessess are having such a hard time to survive.

  5. First of all, that colour is just stunning! Secondly, as a fellow Belgian, I can totally relate to how difficult it is to buy indie yarns in Belgian stores. I too have to resort to buying yarn abroad when I would prefer to buy closer to home. So, should you decide to go into business, you can count on me as a customer πŸ™‚
    A joyful Easter weekend to you & yours! XO

Leave a Reply

